Sunday, June 10, 2007

Givin' Props where Props are Due

In his new album titled S.O.S.: Save Our Soul, due out June 26th, Marc Broussard delves deep into the history books and into the vaults of Motown and Stax Records to create a tribute to the veritable who's who in the soul, blues, R & B, and gospel world. As he puts it, "I want to take what was beautiful and right about old-school soul and make it alive again."

This album, his third counting a benefit bootloeg he produced for the victims of Hurrican Katrina, includes tracks originally sung by some well known names such as Stevie Wonder, Al Green, and Marvin Gaye, as well as some less familiar names such as The Rance Allen Group and The Staple Singers. Marc takes them and updates them a bit, but doesn't lose their original feel. Check out the track listing below:

1. You Met Your Match (Stevie Wonder)
2. If I Could Build My Whole World Around You (Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell)
3. Harry Hippie (Bobby Womack)
4. Let the Music Get Down In Your Soul (The Rance Allen Group)
5. I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know (Blood, Sweat & Tears)
6. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) (Marvin Gaye)
7. Love and Happiness (Al Green)
8. I've Been Loving You Too Long (Otis Redding)
9. Respect Yourself (The Staple Singers)
10. Yes We Can, Can (Allan Toussaint)
11. Come In From The Cold (Marc Broussard original)

Marc Broussard - Come In from The Cold : S.O.S.: Save Our Soul

Marc Broussard - Love and Happiness (Al Green cover) : S.O.S.: Save Our Soul

Visit his website, his label Vangaurd Records, and become his friend on MySpace.

Some of Marc's Inspirations

Al Green - Love and Happiness : I'm Still in Love With You

Otis Redding - I've Been Loving You Too Long : Good To Me: Recorded Live At The Whiskey A Go Go Volume 2

1 comment:

Christy said...

Marc Broussard is incredible and so understated. I'm glad you posted this, thank you!